Hyderabad,  India  Time & Weather
History of Hyderabad PDF Print E-mail

The history of this city is very interesting as many rulers ruled this city leaving a magnificent history and sweet memories. This city was the largest princely state in India. The history of Hyderabad begins with the establishment of the Qutub Shahi Dynasty. Sultan Quli Qutb Shah laid the foundation of the city and named it "Hyderabad”.

Earlier it was called Deccan and was ruled by many rulers.

1956 to Present - Hyderabad becomes capital of Andhra Pradesh

1948 to 1956 - Hyderabad State merged with the Indian Union

Asaf Jahi Dynasty – 1720 AD to 1948 AD

Asaf Jahi Dynasty which ruled the Hyderabad state from 1720 to 1948. With the emaciation of the Mughal Empire after Aurangzeb's death in 1707, the Mughal-appointed governors of Hyderabad gained more autonomy from Delhi. In 1724, Asaf Jah I, who was granted the title Nizam-ul-Mulk ("governor of the country") by the Mughal emperor, defeated a rival official to establish control over Hyderabad. Thus began the Asaf Jahi dynasty that would rule Hyderabad until a year after India's independence.

Asaf Jah's successors ruled as Nizams of Hyderabad. The rule of the seven Nizams saw the growth of Hyderabad both culturally and economically. Hyderabad became the formal capital of the kingdom and Golconda. Hyderabad, under the Nizams, was the largest princely state in India

Mughal Empire - Hyderabad Falls to the Mughals in 1687

In 1652, Aurangzeb was re-appointed governor of the Deccan. In an effort to extend the empire, Aurangzeb attacked the border kingdoms of Golconda (1657). Golkonda was conquered by Aurangzeb's 1686-1687 campaign.

Qutb Shahi Dynasty – 1518 AD – 1687 AD

After the disintegration of the Bahmani Sultanate into the five Deccan sultanates, Sultan Quli Qutb Mulk declared independence and took title Qutb Shah, and established Qutb Shahi Dynasty of Golconda. The Qutb Shahi dynasty were later conquered by the Mughal Empire.

Deccan Sultanates – 1527 AD – 1686 AD

Deccan sultanates were five Muslim-ruled late medieval kingdoms–-Bijapur, Golkonda, Ahmadnagar, Bidar and Berar of south-central India. Golkonda became independent in 1518 And beacame Qutb Shahi Dynasty.

Bahmani Sultanate 1347 AD – 1527 AD

The Bahmani Sultanate was a Muslim state of the Deccan in southern India and was one of the great medieval Indian kingdoms.Bahmani Sultanate was the first independent Islamic Kingdom in South India.

The Sultanate was founded on 3rd of August 1347 by governor Ala-ud-Din Hassan Bahman Shah. He revolted Delhi Sultanates and established an independent state on the Deccan within the Delhi Sultanate's southern provinces.

Bahman Shah led his first campaign against Warangal in 1350 and forced its ruler Kapaya Nayaka to cede to him the fortress of Kaulas.

Medieval History 1083 AD – 1323 AD

Various Buddhist and Hindu kingdoms ruled the area during the subsequent centuries. The area was ruled by the Chalukya kings. When the Chalukya kingdom became weaker, Kakatiyas, who were feudal chieftains of Chalukya, declared independence and setup their kingdom around Warangal.

The fall of Warangal to Muhammad bin Tughluq's forces from the Delhi Sultanate in 1321 AD brought anarchy to the region. For the next few decades, the Bahmani Sultanate of the Deccan fought the Musunuri Nayakas on the north and the Vijayanagara Rayas on the south for control of the region.

Kakatiya Dynasty - 1083 AD to 1323 AD

The Kakatiya dynasty (Telugu) was an Indian dynasty that ruled most parts of what is now Andhra Pradesh from 1083 CE to 1323 CE. Shaivite Hindu in nature, it was one of the great Telugu kingdoms that lasted for centuries.

The Kakatiya’s ascent to power can be traced to the reign of the Western Chalukyas.

Western Chalukya Empire 973 AD – 1189 AD

The Western Chalukya Empire ruled most of the western Deccan, South India, between the 10th and 12th centuries. This dynasty is sometimes called the Kalyani Chalukya, today's Basavakalyan in Karnataka.

Prior to the rise of these Chalukyas, the Rashtrakuta empire of Manyakheta controlled most of deccan and central India for over two centuries. In 973, seeing confusion in the Rashtrakuta empire after a successful invasion of their capital by the Paramara of Malwa, Tailapa II a feudatory of the Rashtrakuta ruling from Bijapur region defeated his overlords and made Manyakheta his capital. The dynasty quickly rose to power and grew into an empire under Somesvara who moved the capital to Kalyani.

Rashtrakuta Dynasty 753 AD – 982 AD

The Rashtrakuta Empire was a royal Indian dynasty ruling large parts of southern, central and northern India between the sixth and the tenth centuries. The early kings of this dynasty were Hindu but the later kings were strongly influenced by Jainism.

Pala Empire 750 AD –1174 AD

The Pala Empire was a Buddhist dynasty as well as one of the major middle kingdoms of India

Chalukya Dynasty 543–753

Satavahana Dynasty 230 BC–220

The Satavahana Empire were a dynasty which ruled from Andhra Pradesh and later from Junnar (Pune), Prathisthan (Paithan) in Maharashtra and Kotilingala (Karimnagar) in Andhra Pradesh over Southern and Central India from around 230 BCE onward. Although there is some controversy about when the dynasty came to an end, the most liberal estimates suggest that it lasted about 450 years, until around 220 CE. The Satavahanas are credited for establishing peace in the country, resisting the onslaught of foreigners after the decline of Mauryan empire.

Maurya Empire 321 to 185 B.C.E

The Maurya Empire was a geographically extensive and powerful empire in ancient India, ruled by the Mauryan dynasty from 321 to 185 B.C.E.

The Empire was founded in 322 BC by Chandragupta Maurya.

{module 56}

Monday, 19. November 2018

Design by: Techza